Skip to content

First days in Cusco, Peru

IMG_2255ISA has been such a great experience so far. I’ve learned a lot more Spanish then I would have ever imagined I would in such a short period. We get to study Peruvian culture, practice our Spanish, and go cool places like Moray. All of the people here are very nice, and I’ve definitely made life long friends. I’m so glad I decided to go on this program, because in such a short period of time, my Spanish has improved greatly. Thank you, ISA for making this experience a great one! – Clara Fassinger

Last weekend were my first couple of days in Peru and even though everyone is kind of shy they all seem really nice. We had a long bus ride which was actually very nice because I was able to see a lot of different parts of Peru. The landscape is very different than what I’m used to but it’s exciting to see such a different place. On our excursion, we went to significant Incan locations. They were really cool and helped me learn more about the culture and history of Peru. We also went to an Incan museum where we learned a lot about the history of Peru. The museum was really interesting and I learned a lot. I can already tell I am going to  have lots of fun on this trip. – Dylan Tierny

¡Estoy divirtiéndome mucho acá en Cusco! La gente es muy simpática, la comida es deliciosa, y a mí la cuidad me encanta completamente. Fuimos a Ollantaytambo, y pasábamos por ruinas muy bellas. Unos de mis recuerdos favoritos son cuando fuimos al Moray, La Plaza de Armas, y una mirador donde podíamos ver toda la cuidad. También, mi familia de acogido es tan amable. ¡Estoy muy entusiasmada por el resto del mes acá!IMG_2267

[I’m enjoying myself a lot here in Cusco! The people are very nice, the food is delicious, and I absolutely love the city. We went to Ollantaytambo, and we passed very beautiful ruins. Some of my f    avorite memories are when we went to Moray, the Plaza de Armas and a veranda where we could see the whole city. My host family is so friendly and  welcoming. I am very excited for the rest of the month here!] – Meredith Riggs

– The above post was contributed by three students who studied abroad in 2015 with ISA High School in Cusco, Peru. During the first weekend in the country, students travel as a group on their first excursion to the Sacred Valley to learn about Peruvian culture and history. Keep checking back for more information about our students’ adventures!M Riggs Photo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

