Skip to content

Remembering a Summer in Sevilla

By the end of my trip in Spain, I felt bittersweet. I was excited to sleep soundly in the own comfort of my bed, give my dog endless amounts of kisses, and make summer memories with my friends. On the other hand, I was sad to leave my new friends that I had grown so close to.

It was so hard to say our last goodbyes, as we worriedly hoped it wouldn’t be a goodbye forever. And for me, it wasn’t; this past weekend, I got to visit one of my best friends from my trip in Houston, Texas.

Seeing her just reminded me of the warm summer nights we would spend together along with other friends, and we both agreed that we missed it desperately. However, having the company of each other partially filled that longing feeling. We reminisced, but we made new memories to build onto our friendship.We also met with some other local people from the program, and it was so soothing to catch up and hear how their lives are.

Needless to say, when you say goodbye to your friends as you depart to different terminals, have no fear. You are not saying goodbye, solely implying “see you later”. These friends will last for so long, and they are always here for you when your friends at home are not. Sometimes the nostalgic feeling will build up, and you will text your friend a picture of you two having the times of your lives saying “Miss this and you so much”, and they will reply in a matter of seconds. These are the people who you share interests with, who understand your aspirations! The month I spent in Spain is always in my mind, sometimes subconsciously, but I look back on it every single day.

– The above post was contributed by Nicolette Ragone, an ISA High School Global Ambassador. Nicolette participated on an ISA High School program in Sevilla, Spain in 2014.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

