Skip to content

Living with a Host Family in Costa Rica

Scarlet Host Family- Blog

There is nothing like living with a family in another country. The minute I met my host mom and dad, they were immediately warm and kind and welcoming. I consider myself incredibly lucky because my host family has two kids, aged 10 and 19. I traveled abroad last year as well, and I honestly feel that this is the key to learning a language while you are in another country.

The day I arrived, my host sister right away asked if I liked to play soccer, and we then played in her yard for what must have been hours! We spend late nights playing word games and board games and talking forever in a sort of Spanglish about the U.S, about Costa Rica, and about whatever else you can think of. I probably learn more Spanish right there than any class I would take in school at home!

Actually sitting down for dinner with a family and having to deal with the difficulties of conversations is hard, but in the long term its what makes it easier for us to learn to talk in Spanish. I think this is what changes a simple tourist trip into a real cultural adventure! I can’t wait to spend more time with them all in the coming week.

– The above post was contributed by Scarlet Bliss, who participated on ISA High School’s academic program in Heredia, Costa Rica during the summer of 2014.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

