Skip to content

La prémier semaine de l’école

The following post was contributed by Benjamin Cliff  from James Madison High School in Virginia, who studied abroad in France Summer 2013.

There I was–waking up early in the morning, eating breakfast, dressing up for school, having some butterflies in my stomach, and doing everything else I needed to do to get ready for school again. Except this time I was in France. The first day was not too bad, but personally I was a bit nervous.

Walking up to the University was quite daunting. I was wondering what my classes would be like, what the people there were like, and how much I would learn. All of it was very nerve-racking and I felt like I was going to throw up from my anxiety. Class started with an introduction from the teacher and then an icebreaker game to make things a bit less awkward for us and to engage in conversations amongst ourselves. It was actually really cool to talk to others from other countries using a foreign language! I got to meet and introduce myself to someone from Poland whose name is Sara. I asked a few other students how their first day went and they pretty much felt the same way.

As the weeks pass, I start to feel comfortable with my surroundings and with practicing my French with my host family and new friends. Everyone keeps in touch with each other whether it be texting (parents, do not be too angry at your children when you see the phone bill) or through Facebook. It’s pretty cool because while we don’t live near each other, we can still hang out together and explore the city.

I want to thank my parents for sending me to France, for giving me this chance to experience life in a different country, to live and learn about other people, even if it is only for a month. It has been amazing so far and we aren’t even halfway finished with our trip! This is an amazing opportunity to ameliorate my French, meet new people, and do so much more. I did not know what to expect before I got here, but I can honestly say that I am having the time of my life. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the summer brings during my time here in France.

group in St Malo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

