Skip to content

A Sweet Tooth’s Guide to Spain

The following blog post was written by Caroline Van Kirk, who participated in Granada 2013.  Caroline shares her unique experience with discovering the sweets of Spain!

1. Chocolate and Churros

Caroline 1

My mouth waters. My excitement escalates. My heaven is sitting in front of me. From sunrise to sunset, all I think about is this moment. The minute I walk into the cafe, the waiter greets me like an old friend and serves the sacred snack. I am at a loss of words to describe the perfection of this treat which I religiously devour. The melted chocolate with the fried dough creates a sweet sensation in my mouth. This picture cannot express the deliciousness of this scrumptious treat.

2. Los ItalianosCaroline 2

When I say that I have tried every ice cream shop in Granada, many people do not realize I am being perfectly honest. I have determined that Los Italianos has the best ice cream in Granada and probably in the entire world! With numerous flavors, ranging from cream to raspberry, Los Italianos gelato is the quintessence of taste and texture in each scoop.

3. PastryCaroline 3

The smell of freshly baked pastries lures in everybody that walks by the quaint shop. On one of my first days here, I attempted to walk by without buying a pastry because I had just eaten breakfast, but after taking a few steps past the shop, I concluded that I had made a big mistake. Then and there, I turned around and ran into the store. Pastries lined the shelves, and I had to make one of the hardest decisions of my life: Which pastry should I buy? After eating an unbelievably rich and flaky chocolate one, I realized that anything you buy in a pastry store is the right choice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

