Skip to content

My Second Mom

My Host Mom & Me

The following post has been submitted by Charles Ngo, who participated in Granada Summer 2 2013.

Before meeting my host family, I actually thought it would be a traditional family with kids, but as it turns out I was staying with a single mother. Even though she was the only person we were living with, I do not think I could have asked for anyone better. She is the most loving person I have ever met and she always takes care of us in the best way she can. She calls us “handsome” and “precious” all the time, making us feel valuable. At first my roommates and I were afraid of what our host mother was going to be like, but in the end, I think we ended up with the best of them all. It feels great to be away from your parents and to still have someone exactly like them who cares for you in the same way.

Before I arrived to the house, I was afraid of the food we were going to have and how I was going to communicate with her since I know so little Spanish, but by the end of the first day, that was the last thing on my mind. She helped me with my Spanish, teaching me how to say things correctly, and slowed down whenever I asked. To make my stay even better, the food was fantastic; there was not one meal that was not amazing.

Spain was a great experience and staying in a homestay was definitely one of the best parts. My host mom was awesome and so loving, like an actual mother. I want to take her back to the States with me, but I am pretty sure she would not like that.

My advice to others? Never be afraid of what may happen when you go abroad. If you go into it with an open mind, you just might end up with a second family.

One Comment Post a comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Mom Reigns Supreme | A Stroke of Life

Leave a Reply

